Home » Breaking News, Uganda News » NRM Rebel MPs Should Stay in Parliament-Supreme Court

By Ahura Mujuni Mark

The Supreme Court has ordered the Four rebel MPs to stay in Parliament.The court in Kololo  made its ruling on Thursday morning and ordered the  Electoral Commission to halt the elections to replace the Four MPs in Parliament.

Expelled NRM Members of Parliament

Expelled NRM Members of Parliament

The news of maintaining the MPs in parliament came at the same time the Electoral Commission Boss ,Badru Kigundu had set 17th April,2014  as the election date to replace the four MPs in parliament and the embattled Lord Mayor.

The expelled  MPs who include;Theodore Ssekikubo (Lwemiyaga), Barnabas Tinkasiimire (Buyaga West), Muhammad Nsereko (Kampala Central) and Wilfred Niwagaba (Ndorwa East)  will therefore stay in Parliament as the Supreme Court  it hears their appeal against last month’s Constitutional court ruling.

The case is before Justices Christine Kitumba, Esther Kisaakye Mayambala, Benjamin Odoki, John-Wilson Nattubu Tsekooko and Galdino Okello.