Home » Breaking News, Uganda News » NRM to Make Final Decision on Expelled Rebel MPs During Kyankwanzi Retreat

By Our Reporter

The ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) Party is set to make its final decision on its  expelled rebel MPs during its retreat in Kyankwanzi.

The NRM caucus vice chairman David Bahati told reporters at parliament on Wednesday morning that the party General Secretary Amama Mbabazi will present a report on the expelled members during the retreat which will run from 6th to 16th February.

“The party will also make its final decision on rebel MPs since the party secretary General Amama Mbabazi is going to give a report about rebel MPs” He said

The MPs who were expelled from the NRM Party last year are; Mr Theodore Sekikubo (Lwemiyaga county MP), Mr Muhammed Nsereko (Kampala central MP), Mr Wilfred Niwagaba (Ndorwa East) and Mr Barnabas Tinkasiimire.  Mr Vincent Kyamadidi, the Rwampara Municipality MP was handed a four month suspension.

Expelled NRM Members of Parliament

Expelled NRM Members of Parliament

The MPs, according to the party’s CEC, were found guilty of faulting Rule 4 of the party constitution which prohibits; use of foul language, campaigning against official party flag bearers in elections, being an agent of foreign agents to the detriment of the party or country and willfully spreading malicious propaganda.

The party later sought to have them expelled from parliament as well but lost after the MPs appealed and won over keeping in parliament.