Home » Breaking News, Uganda News » Gilbert Bukenya Can Win 2016 Presidential Polls – Buganda Katikiro Peter Mayiga

By Jane Nambi

While meeting the former Vice-President Prof. Gilbert Balibaseka Bukenya, newly appointed Buganda Katikiro has warned that Prof. Bukenya can actually win the 2016 presidential elections.

Mr. Mayiga said Prof. Bukenya will surprise those who used to mock him by winning the upcoming 2016 presidential elections. Prof. Bukenya announced his decision to contest for the 2016 presidential elections. “When Bukenya came back from abroad to lecture at Makerere University people laughed at him. When he left teaching and joined politics people laughed at him. When he was appointed Vice-President, people laughed at him and disproved them. When he tells now where he is going and you laugh at him, we shall laugh at you when he gets there,” Mr. Mayiga said.

Gilbert Bukenya Can Win 2016 Presidential Polls - Buganda Katikiro Peter MayigaMr. Mayiga made the comments on Wednesday while launching Bukenya’s anti-poverty campaign at his Lwantama based home in Wakiso district. “The Ommumuli project was started to select role model leaders who develop their communities. Prof. Bukenya, because of these different impressive initiatives you keep coming up with to develop Ugandans, I have selected you as the Ommumuli of the parliament of Uganda. Let all other MPs come here and learn from you,” the Katikiro echoed.

Mr. Mayiga went ahead and described Bukenya as the best Vice-President Uganda has ever had. “If our people had leaders like Bukenya, they would easily get out of poverty,” he said.

Talking about his leadership should he win in 2016, Prof. Bukenya said, “My leadership will not dish out cash to people as other leaders have been doing. My leadership will not give people fish but will teach all Ugandans how to fish for themselves.”

Wednesday’s function was attended by former Buganda Katikkiro Joseph Mulwanya Mmuli Ssemogerere, Mengo minister for trade and industry Toban Mohamood, Democratic Party (DP) secretary general Mathias Nsubuga, Buikwe North MP Dr. Michael Lulume Bayiga, Ntenjeru North MP Patrick Nsanja, Bukomansimbi MP Deagrotius Kiyingi, Central region youth MP Patrick Nakabale, and Wakiso district chairman Matia Lwanga Bwani.

Other political leaders present were Butambala district chairman Godfrey Mafumu, Mitiyana district speaker Ssalongo Aloysius Sserumaga, Mubende district chairman Francis Kibuuka Amooti, Kiboga district chairman Israel Iga and Kiboga district chairman Governor Abdu Kyabangi.