Home » Breaking News, Features & Commentary » Why DP Withdrew its Members from Shadow Cabinet

By Ahura Mujuni Mark

Democratic Party has announced the withdrawal of its members from  the shadow cabinet .DP officials claim that the party was treated unfairly in the recent reshuffle.

While addressing a press conference  yesterday ,DP Secretary General, Mr Matthias Nsubuga said that the leader of opposition, Nandala Mafabi had  went against the agreements of the opposition in parliament by changing the shadow cabinet without consulting DP officials.

“As per what we agreed upon, Mr Mafabi is supposed to consult us when sacking or appointing new ministers but he does not do it. We see that as a sign of undermining our party and until otherwise, we shall not participate in the Shadow Cabinet as DP,” Mr Nsubuga said.

The new shadow cabinet at parliament comprises of 24 ministers. FDC  has majority Members of Parliament.FDC  awarded itself 15 Cabinet positions and left only three positions to DP.JEEMA party was given only one position  and Conservative Party one position one post .

DP officials who were given positions in the shadow cabinet include;Medard Lubega Ssegoona ( Presidency & Constitutional Affairs) Dr Lulume Bayiga (Health) and Betty Nambooze (Local Government).

The  bitter relationship between the two major opposition parties in Uganda  was also witnessed in  June this year  when the Leader of Opposition in Parliament, Mr Nandala Mafabi accused Democratic Party leader Norbert Mao of betrayal after opting out of an opposition boycott to field a candidate to the East African Legislative Assembly.DP sent its representatives to the EALA as FDC maintained to contest against NRM’s lion share of Uganda’s EALA positions. DP and UPC were accused of supporting the ruling NRM party .

Leader of Opposition Nanbala Mafabi