Home » Breaking News, Uganda News » Sseggona, Bayiga and Nambooze Vow Not to Leave Shadow Cabinet

By Maureen Nakigozi

Three members on Democratic Party who were appointed to the Shadow cabinet have vowed not to resign their shadow cabinet positions despite the party’s decision to withdraw its candidates.

Shadow Minister for Local Government (Mukono Municipality MP), Betty Nambooze, Minister for Presidency & constitutional affairs Medard Lubega Ssegona and Health Minister, Lulume Bayiga argues that  no one except  the leader of opposition in Parliament has a right to drop members from the shadow cabinet.

The conflict  comes after the secretary general of DP, Mr Mathias Nsubuga, announced that Democratic Party  had withdrawn its members from the shadow cabinet citing disrespect by the leader of the opposition, Nandala Mafabi.

Nsubuga said that Mafabi should have consulted the party before reshuffling the cabinet and accused him of going against the position agreed on by all opposition parties which requires him to consult other parties before changing Cabinet.

Sseggona says  that he will continue offering his services to the people while Nambooze also advised DP to stop complaining because FDC has the largest share and rules the cabinet.


  1. Kigozi Kawesa says:

    NAYE OBA ANI YALOGA the Ugandan political Parties?! It is all about squabbles and intra-tearing of each other. Sincerely doesn’t discipline demand that the party agrees on what to do without necessarily abusing each other in the media. But any way with due respect does DP exist or it’s individual merit like it were. Are these fellows in parliament as DPs or as individuals? So I think.