Home » Breaking News, Uganda News » Six Nominated to Contest in Butambala MP By-Elections

By John Kibirige

Electoral commission yesterday concluded the two day nomination exercise for Butambala County by-elections in which six candidates were nominated.

According to the district returning officer ,Mark Muganzi, seven people picked nomination forms but only six surfaced for nominations.

Faisal Kikulukunyu, one of the nominees

The candidates to contest in the race according to Muganzi are  Ibrahim Tomusange of Uganda Federal Alliance,  Faridah Nakiboneka, independent, Mwanga Kivumbi Mohammed of the Democratic Party, Ssentongo Sharif, NRM’s Faisal Kikulukunyu and Farouk Walungama.

The Butambala parliamentary seat fell vacant when court nullified the election of Faisal Kikulukunyu over voter bribery and election rigging.

The by-elections have been set for 12 September 2012.