Home » Culture » Current Kings of Uganda

The Current Kings in Uganda

The Kabaka of Buganda -Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II

King Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II,He is the current King Kabaka  (King) of Buganda , the 36th King of Buganda,  after Mutesa 11 who ruled from 1936  to 1969 which followed an interregnum from 1969 to 1993 , Mutesa the 11 had succeeded Daudi Chwa 11 (1897-1939),Kalema (1888-1889) ,Kiwewa (1888-1888)  after Mwanga 11 (1884-1888) and 1889-1897  succeeding other Buganda Kings (Kabaka’s)

The King of Bunyoro-Kingdom -Agutamba Solomon Gafabusa Iguru I

Rukirabasaija Agutamba Solomon Gafabusa Iguru I is the current Omukama (king) of Bunyoro, the 49th Omukama (King) of the Kingdom Bunyoro Kitara and the 27th Omukama in the Babiito Dynasty

The Alur King, Rwoth Philip Olarker Rauni III

Olarker Rauni III is the 33rd king of Alur.He succeeded his grandfather, Rwoth Jalcebo Keroyomotho II, who died in 2000.

The King of Rwenzururu Charles Wesley Mumbere Kibanzanga II

Charles Wesley Mumbere Kibanzanga II was crowned Second King of Rwenzururu in 2009. Rwenzururu kingdom was established in 1962 as the result of a secessionist movement by the Bakonjo people in the mountainous region of western Uganda. Mumbere inherited the title at age 13, and assumed the position of king at age 18. He kept his royal title secret during most of his 25 years in the United States until he was installed as Omusinga.

He succeeded his father Isaya Mukirane, who had launched the Rwenzururu armed struggle against the Toro Kingdom.

The King of Toro Kingdom Omukama Oyo Nyimba Kabamba Iguru Rukidi IV

King Oyo Nyimba Kabamba Iguru Rukidi IV is the current King  (Omukama) of Toro Kingdom in western Uganda. He was crowned king at the infant age of three-and-one half years .The king of Toro was recorded in the Guinness Book of World Records as the youngest reigning monarch.

The King of Busoga

The former Kyabazinga Isebantu (King) of Busoga was Henry Wako Muloki .He died on 1 September 2008.He ruled after other Busoga Kingdom leaders like William Wilberforce Nadiope (son of Zibondo) (1949-1955) after Ezekiel Tenywa Wako (1939-1949) the first Kyabazinga Isebantu

Currently the position of Kingship in Busoga Kingdon is still being contested by two princes ,Prince Edward Columbus Wambuzi and Prince William Gabula IV.

The Chief of Acholi- Rwot David Onen Acana 11

Rwot David Onen Acana 11 was enthroned as the Paramount Chief of Acholi in 2005.


  1. Oryema says:

    Even the media is confused. Are these the only kings in Uganda?. Biased, liars and blind folders (the media). What about Rwot Onen Acana for Acholi kingship. Talk truth and avoid mis – informing Ugandans and the whole World.